I WANT IT ALL.

Moved by Music: Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Wedding Song- Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Wedding Song- Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Wedding Song (Acoustic)

Wedding Song Lyrics

Moved by Music 

The song that I selected for this week’s challenge is Wedding Song by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I have a hard time letting myself truly let go in love somtimes. I’ve never really been able to relate with incredibly romantic songs even when I was in love  because they so often sound corny and superficial to me. I’ve always preferred an edgier song to something soft and delicate, but I have found the perfect love song that is both of these things. You know that feeling you get when you hear a song for the first time and you know you’ve fallen in love because it is perfect? Every note, every sound just fits.

Two months out of a two year relationship and as much as I didn’t want it to, this song made me fall in love with love again. As happy as I was to be searching for my independence again, and working toward standing tall and focusing on me, this song struck me. The excruciating beauty that she sings with swept me off my feet and I couldn’t help but fall in love with the story she was telling. That probably sounds corny and maybe that’s okay…But give the song a listen before you decide for yourself.

Karen O is basically an alien in the most complimentary way possible. She writes lyrics that are out of this world and for someone with such an unclassical voice she makes every sound sheer perfection. Her words are ones I would never think to use to talk about love, but the way they fall one after another you see and feel exactly what she is talking about. I have never heard music that let me feel more in love than when I first heard this song. It was a love that I haven’t known yet and a world I have not yet lived in but I understood it and most importantly I felt it.

Every word that she sings makes it the least cliche and the most intelligently poetic love song I’ve ever heard. Hearing it sets my mind free as I run through every relationship that I’ve had. Those photographic memories that you hang on to even after it has been and gone. You always hang on to those few precious moments that told you it was real and it was worthy. Every moment of love and inseparable devotion. Even in their beauty, those loves could never have stood up against this love that she sings about.

Such a simple love yet so perfect.

“Some kind of violent bliss led me to love like this. 1000 deaths my dear, I’d die without you here.”

Each lyric so artistically crafted to express exactly the love that she knows she has found. It is such a painfully beautiful description of her devotion and appreciation for this love. This song oozes inspiration for me. It reignites a fire in me to open myself up and really fall.

Leave a comment