I WANT IT ALL.

I Left My Heart in Toronto

hmrJenna’s Doodles

Half Moon Run- Need It (Cover)

I’ve included a link to my cover of the Half Moon Run song Need it above. I hope you enjoy!

So often I think I build something up in my mind so much that when it actually happens it’s a bit of a let down. Every once in a while though…Usually when I’m least expecting it I just have an all around great night.

Everything about it was perfect. It’s an odd feeling when you realize that a place makes you feel different. You walk a little bit taller and breathe a bit slower. It fits. It’s just that feeling, knowing it’s where you want to be. It’s exciting really. We were in Toronto to see Half Moon Run at The Phoenix the other night. As we drove to Toronto I kept getting flashbacks of while I was in Australia and listening to this band and knowing they were Canadian and feeling so excited to get to see them for the first time.

Even the drive to Toronto just fit. Traffic, music, darkness and lights. The perfect backdrop for a night of music and friends.

Once we got to The Phoenix I could feel it right away. The energy was insane. This dark, maze-like bar with red back lighting and oddly round industrial looking ceiling decorations. There was no band on stage but the atmosphere was enough to get the energy up. It felt like forever waiting to for them to come on stage but once they did…

https://i1.wp.com/distilleryimage8.ak.instagram.com/7b385c0a5a4211e385a6126de65e1c1f_8.jpg

Half Moon Run – The Phoenix, Toronto

I knew they were going to be good…I had no question. But I didn’t expect that. Incredible. The record is just nothing in comparison. They are incredible. It was also one of those shows that singes your memory so that you can’t forget a thing about it, you stand there and watch while you take everything in.

The show was their first one home in Canada since being away on tour and they were certainly as happy to be there playing as everyone was to be seeing them. They gave absolutely everything they had and it was tangible. Once in a while you go to a show where you don’t feel like you’re there to watch an act, you feel like you are really part of it. As the crowd sang the lyrics and howls echoed through the venue at every spontaneously perfect note it was obvious that this band has something. Something that makes you want to be friends with them and make music with them and then make love afterwards. Just a pure commitment to their music and their talents that made me want to run home, grab my guitar and try to grasp even a little bit of what they may have been feeling.

I have to confess that leaving Toronto I felt simultaneously elated and unfulfilled. I had to go home. It was over. Until next time anyway. I know I’ll get there, maybe not yet but soon enough. To collect the part of me that I left behind and create the next chapter.

Leave a Reply

